· 

And finally the autumn has arrived

For almost a month I haven't updated the site and in this period the whole situation has changed. October seemed to be actually more of a prolongation of summer than the begin of autumn. With the first days of November the rain has eventually arrived and also the temperature has dropped a bit. Now it really feels like autumn, not just because of the weather but also in respect of the birdlife.

 

Today the weather seemed a bit unstable, so I remained within the city boundaries instead of taking the train to the coast. Since the Caffarella parc has impressed me the last time, I gave it another go and I can't complain of my decision. In sum it wasn't bad, but there weren't any highlights despite of the high numbers of present birds. In virtually any tree some migrants were resting and with a bit of patience a reasonable selection of common passerines could be spotted. The most numerous were Chiffchaff, Black Redstart and White Wagtail (on the meadows). As I've already mentioned all my tries to find something really special among the latter failed. However I managed to find my first Song Thrushes and Dunnocks in Rome. Yes, I know, to be happy about everyday-birds like these is defintely a bit sad. Nonetheless, I enjoyed the afternoon, simply because it was the first time out birding after a rather long time. Hopefully, I'm able to arrange a more promising trip soon.

Write a comment

Comments: 0